SUBJECT: AMENDMENTS TO SECTION 4 (COVERING THE SPECTRUM USER FEES (SUF) RATES FOR THE CELLULAR MOBILE TELEPHONE SERVICE AND SPREAD SPECTRUM RADIO STATIONS) AND SECTION 5 OF MC 10-10-97

The Commission hereby issues the following amendments to Sections 4 & 5 of MC 10-10-97 (Spectrum User Fees) :

SECTION 4

4.1 FOR CELLULAR MOBILE TELEPHONE SERVICE

The SUF shall be base on the amount of bandwidth assigned per CMTS operator :

BW (total of TX and RX)	SUF
-------------------------	-----

20MHz & below	PHP 500,000/MHz
In excess of 20MHz	1,000,000/MHz
but to exceed 30MHz	
In excess of 30MHz	2,000,000/MHz
but not to exceed 40MHz	
In excess of 40MHz	5,000,000/MHz

4.12 SPREAD SPECTRUM RADIO STATIONS

For Spread Spectrum Radio Stations (Point-to-Point or Point-to-Multipoint) the SUF shall be based on the occupied (transmitted) bandwidth at a given instant of time. The rates shall be those prescribed in Sec. 4.7 and Sec. 4.8 of MC 10-10-97.



SECTION 5

- 5.1 Payment of SUF shall not be required for permit to purchase issued for the first time. The validity of the permit to purchase shall not exceed six (6) months. Permits to purchase can be renewed for the same period for meritorious reasons and upon payment of the corresponding SUF. If the renewal of the permit to purchase is issued after 30 June of the year, the amount of SUF shall be 50% of the SUF due for the year.
- 5.2 For new radio stations, the amount of SUF shall be 50% of the SUF due for the year if the radio station license is issued after 30 June of the year. The full amount the SUF shall be paid for the succeeding years.
- 5.3 Section 5.1 and 5.2 shall not apply to radio stations operating within the frequency bands allocated to cellular Mobile Telephone system (CMTS).

Any circular, memorandum or order or parts thereof inconsistent herewith are deemed amended, revised or repealed.

This circular shall take effect fifteen (15) days after publication in a newspaper of general Circulation and three (3) certified copies provided the UP Law Center.

Quezon City, Philippines, December 13, 2001

(SGD.) ELISEO M. RIO, JR. Commissioner

(SGD.) KATHLEEN G. HECETA Deputy Commissioner (SGD.) ARMI JANE R. BORJE Deputy Commissioner

