MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO. 05-03-2000

SUBJECT: GUIDELINES ON ANNUAL TESTING OF 406 MHz SATELLITE EMERGENCY POSITIONING INDICATING RADIO BEACON (EPIRB)

Pursuant to the provisions of the RA No. 3846, as amended and RA No. 3396, and as recommended in the seventieth (70th) session of the Maritime Safety Committee to address the requirement of the new SOLAS regulation IV/15.9, the National Telecommunications Commission hereby promulgates the following guidelines on annual testing of 406 MHz satellite EPIRBs on board Philippine registered vessels:

- 1. Testing should be carried out using suitable test equipment capable of performing all the relevant measurements required in these guidelines.
- 2. The examination of the installed 406 MHz satellite EPIRB should include:
 - 2.1 checking position and mounting for float-free operation;
 - 2.2 carrying out visual inspection for defects;
 - 2.3 carrying out the self-test routine;
 - 2.4 checking that the EPIRB identification (ID) is clearly marked on the outside of the equipment and decoding the EPIRB identity number and other information from the transmitted signal;
 - 2.5. checking the battery expiry date;
 - 2.6 if provided, checking the hydrostatic release and its expiry date;
 - 2.7 checking the frequency of the 406 MHz signal without transmission of distress call to the satellites;
 - 2.8 if possible, checking frequency of the 121.5 MHz homing signal without activating the satellite system;
 - 2.9. checking that the EPIRB has been maintained by an approved testing or servicing station; and
 - 2.10 after the test, remounting the EPIRB in its bracket, checking that no transmission has been started.

3. A written report to NTC, Radio Regulation and Licensing Department shall be submitted ten (10) days after each annual testing of the 406 MHz satellite EPIRB has been carried out.

This circular shall take effect immediately and supersedes all other circulars, orders of instructions or any part thereof, which are inconsistent herewith.

Quezon City, Philippines 01 March 2000.

(SGD.) NESTOR C. DACANAY
Deputy Commissioner

(SGD.) AURELIO M. UMALI
Deputy Commissioner

(SGD.) JOSEPH A. SANTIAGO
Commissioner